Books for Kids & Teens

Standard
Books for Kids & Teens

Many of my fellow book enthusiasts started out as I did, loving books at a young age.  I can remember spending many of my summer vacations sticking my head in a great book, and not coming up for air until I absolutely had to. With summer in full swing I was wondering what books were available for kids & teens today. Pouring through some current publishing catalogs I found a lot of interesting choices. Not only were there so many books to choose from, but I was surprised to see the vast array of subject matter that these books cover. Everything from family issues to social issues, diversity, race, religion, and some subjects that are even difficult for adults to make sense of, like violence. Maybe I grew up in a bubble, but I don’t recall having such diverse and interesting choices, although admittedly, I mainly gravitated to mysteries.

Armed with a list of some really great sounding books, I chose a few to read and review over the next couple of weeks. I’ll be posting each one separately, because I don’t want any of them to get lost in a crowd. Be sure to keep an eye out for what I hope will be an interesting series on books for kids and teens. I’ll also be listing publication dates for those books that may not be available right away.

In the meantime, get those library cards ready, here are some great kids classics that I enjoyed when I was young – some of them over and over.

  • Heidi by Johanna Spyri
  • The Secret Garden by France’s Hodgson Burnett
  • Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll
  • Judy Bolton Mystery series by Margaret Sutton
  • Nancy Drew Mystery series by Carolyn Keene
  • Hardy Boys Mystery series by Franklin W Dixon
  • Johnny Tremain by Esther Forbes
  • Black Beauty by Anna Sewell
  • Charlotte’s Web by E. B. White
  • Katie John by Mary Calhoun
  • Anne of Green Gables by Lucy Maud Montgomery
  • The Reb and The Redcoat by Constance Savery

And as I got a little older:

  • The Lord of the Rings trilogy by JRR Tolkien
  • Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier
  • All of Agatha Christie
  • To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee – of course
  • Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte
  • Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte
  • David Copperfield by Charles Dickens
  • The Heart is a Lonely Hunter by Carson McCullers

And last but not least, the Angelique series – a pretty obscure French series that was translated to english, written by the husband and wife team of Anne and Serge Golon.  I mention this one separately because I probably read this series at too young of an age – it had some mature themes.  We’ve all been there!

So, what are some of the books that you enjoyed as a young child or teen? I’d love to hear about them, so please feel free to comment.

Comments are closed.