You’re Never Weird on the Internet (almost) by Felicia Day

Standard
You’re Never Weird on the Internet (almost) by Felicia Day

You’re Never Weird on the Internet (almost)
By Felicia Day
Published by Touchstone

So, first off I have to say that my husband and I are big Felicia Day fans. We’ve purchased DVDs of “The Guild”; downloaded the episodes of “Dr Horrible” from iTunes; and her appearances on “Supernatural” stayed on the DVR far longer than any other episodes. I follow her on “Geek and Sundry” and on her Twitter feed, (and let’s not forget the Vaginal Fantasy book club), so yes, BIG fans here. To say that I was excited about her memoir is an understatement.

I pre-ordered the book In December 2014, and around mid July of this year I started to count down the days to the release. But, as these things tend to happen, the book was scheduled to arrive on a weekday and I was working. I didn’t want to wait to dig in to the book, so early that morning I also purchased the audio version. I was able to listen in the car and at work; and over three days I let Felicia Day read her story to me. By the way, Joss Whedon wrote and reads the foreword. Bonus!

Her story is fascinating, and even a little scary as she frankly and honestly talks about her health issues, and how horribly mean and threatening people have been to her over the Internet. As someone who admires her work I was never aware of how some of the things in her personal life had seriously affected her health, and how she was at times even afraid for her own safety. She speaks so openly and talks about how hard she’s worked to overcome these issues. I think I admire her even more.

This book was a huge surprise and I highly recommend that you give the audio a try. As she rapidly goes through each chapter – she can speak rather quickly – you feel like she’s right there in the room with you chatting as a friend. Also a plus with the audio are the sound effects that she uses and the inflection in her voice as she tells some pretty funny stories. And just so you don’t think that you’re missing anything, a pdf file comes with the audio so that you can check out some of the hilarious photos that go with the stories.

This book is funny and heartwarming, but most of all a positive outlook on her life. If you’re a fan of Felicia Day, this book is a must have. If you’re not a fan, read the book! You’ll be a fan before you’re through. She’s had an interesting life, and not the easy ride that some people may think.

Oh, and on a side note, the cover is awesome.

I’d love to hear from other Felicia Day fans, so feel free to leave a comment.

8 responses

  1. I got to meet here a few weeks ago at her book signing, such a lovely person. Great review! I agree, I admire her even more after reading this. Her sharing her struggles honestly made me cry.

  2. I am very interested in getting acquainted with Felicia Day’s book. I read an article on Her and her candor makes for fun reading.