Re-reading Some Favorite Gothic Classics

Standard
Re-reading Some Favorite Gothic Classics

So here we are, already mid-October. The heat of the summer is gone and has been replaced with chill mornings and crisp afternoons. The leaves are beginning to turn brilliant red and gold, and the world has fallen head over heels in love with all things pumpkin spice. And I’ve replaced my summer patio reading with curling up on the sofa with a cozy throw, and a hot cup of tea.  This is my favorite time of the year.

For some reason this time of the year also brings to my mind a couple of my favorite classic books that I discovered and read as a teenager.  Maybe it’s because we’re heading into that spooky Halloween time of the year, but I was thinking of Gothic classics.

As typically defined, Gothic literature is a genre that usually revolves around the darker elements of human nature. The three Gothic tales that I seem to always go back to again and again fit that bill, and I hear them calling my name. So I’m heading for a re-read, but which one first? Here are my choices:

Jane Eyre, by Charlotte Bronte – poor orphan Jane, mistreated by her aunt and sent away to a horrible school, she takes a position as a governess in a dark and dusty manor house, working for the brooding Mr. Rochester.

Wuthering HeightsWuthering Heights, by Emily Bronte – the highly dysfunctional love story of Heathcliff and Catherine,  played out on the moors of Yorkshire.

Rebecca, by Daphne du Maurier – a young bride (who’s first name is never revealed) marries the wealthy Maxim de Winter, living under the shadow of his first wife, the beautiful Rebecca.Rebecca

What a decision! All three of these are fantastic, and have been favorites of mine for many years.  I think I’ll read them in the order that I first discovered them, so that makes Jane Eyre first up.

Do you have any go-to classics that seem to be perfect for this time of the year?  I’d love to hear your choices, please feel free to comment.

2 responses

  1. I love Wuthering Heights! And now I’ve started reading A Tale of Two cities. I guess with the holiday season coming up, I immediately think Dickens!