Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone – Illustrated Edition

Standard
Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone – Illustrated Edition

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling, Illustrated by Jim Kay.
Bloomsbury Publishing

I just couldn’t wait to get this gorgeous book in my hands. It took a little longer than the typical two days from Amazon, and that’s because I chose to order this version from the UK. I wanted this new copy to have “Philosopher’s Stone” in the title rather than the U.S. title with “Sorcerer’s Stone”. I still don’t have a clue why they decided on that distinction, but I’m sure there was a valid reason.

So now that the book has finally arrived, and I’ve had a good look through it, I thought I’d share some of it with you. I’m not going to review the book based on the story. At this point I think everyone knows all about Harry, so this will be more about the appearance of the book itself.

Before I begin, though, I do want to mention that I already own all of the Harry Potter books. I love my collection, but I had to begin collecting this new illustrated version. And I am not disappointed!

This book is just beautifully put together. The paper is glossy and thick, and there is a red ribbon page marker, which I think is a lovely touch.

The dust jacket has that soft, rubber like feel. I never know how to describe this, but most book lovers know what I mean. The title print is embossed and the cover illustration wraps all the way to the back. Under the dust jacket is a beautiful plain red cover, the title printed in blue on the spine. The front and back end papers are two different illustrations of Hogwarts. Both a little dark and eery looking.

Inside you have the full text of the book, and sprinkled throughout there are accompanying illustrations. The art in this book is stunning! I can’t even imagine the amount of work that went into this, but Jim Kay does J.K. Rowling’s fabulous story proud. I can’t gush enough over how beautiful this book is.

The quote from J.K. Rowling on the back cover says it all:
“Seeing Jim Kay’s illustrations moved me profoundly. I love his interpretation of Harry Potter’s world, and I feel honoured and grateful that he has lent his talent to it.”

Enough said, lets look at some pictures from the book. By the way, not sure if it’s visible enough, but these photos were taken on top of my gorgeous Hogwarts throw. A gift from my friend, and fellow Harry Potter fan herself, Amy!

image

image

image

image
image

Like I said, stunning! Needless to say, I can’t wait to see the rest of the series. It’s going to be a wonderful collection, and will sit on my shelf beside the original books, along with my Hermione Granger wand!

What do you think of this new illustrated edition? Please feel free to comment below.

4 responses

  1. You will not be disappointed. It’s a pretty hefty book too. The pages are so thick that it gives this book some weight. I’m already anxiously awaiting the next one.